My opinion on Reon Dawson

A lot of the Michigan faithful have been up in arms since signing day after a comment by new signee, Reon Dawson. I don’t think that Dawson really meant to hurt anyone or make himself out to be a villain. I think that he was more trying to inspire fellow Ohio members on his team that, even though he’s a buckeye fan, he’s all about winning. Why else would he devout the next 3-4 years of his life to a program that he doesn’t like or wasn’t fully committed to? I’m all for Dawson playing in Ann Arbor and I’m all for his ability to play football, and honestly, I could care less about who he rooted for as a kid, as long as he dons that winged helmets on Saturdays and helps us win.

For those of you who haven’t heard the comment, Dawson said “Until I die, I’m going to be a buckeye fan.” Which to few may not sound like much, but this rivalry is different than most, and that could have stepped on some toes. I believe in Dawson’s abilities, and I would be much more focused on his playing, rather than who he’s watching the scoreboard for.

Dawson will bring his ‘A’ game every single day, and if anything, not being signed by “Ohio” is a good thing. He’s going to be playing with a chip on his shoulder, and I will love to see what he could bring to this rivalry. I wouldn’t sweat the comments, and I’m sure UM fans as a whole can turn his mentality from being a nut lover, to a nutcracker.

As always, Go Blue!

Leave a Reply

