Player Interviews: Mark Donnal

2013 hoops commit Mark Donnal. Photo courtesy of ESPN.com.

After a Final Four run this season, the momentum of the Michigan basketball program isn’t letting up any time soon, as evidenced by their strong 2013 recruiting class.

John Beilein and the Wolverines are brining in five-star scoring machine Zak Irvin, another great point guard in Derrick Walton, and big man Mark Donnal, who are both four-star recruits.

We talked to Mark Donnal recently to talk about becoming a member of the Wolverines and what he can bring to the table to help Michigan make more deep NCAA Tournament runs.

What made Michigan your school of choice?

“Michigan offers a great education and are a perfect fit for how I like to play.”

When did you know that Ann Arbor was the place you wanted to be?

“After going to my first game, touring campus, being in the locker room, and talking to the coaches. I just immediately fell in love with everything they do in Ann Arbor.”

What are your thoughts of the rest of the ’13 class for you guys? Derrick Walton and Zak Irvin are fantastic players.

“I played against and watched both of them during the AAU circuit and they have been very impressive. I can’t wait to get on the court with them.”

Next year you’ll have Mitch McGary (assuming he stays), Jordan Morgan, Jon Horford, and yourself. Suddenly, that’s a legitimate stable of big men. What that going to be like?

“It’s going to be great to learn from guys like Morgan and Horford because of their experience and going up against them and Mitch in practice is going to make me a lot better.”

What do you think you’re the best at? What do you need to improve on?

“I think I have good footwork on my post moves and vision in the post. I need to work on adding strength and speed and develop my jumper.”

I know the status of a few guys is still up in the air (Hardaway, Robinson, McGary) but what’s it going to take to make another deep tournament run next year?

“That’s kind of a hard question for me to answer since I wasn’t with the team this year but I think if we just follow Coach Beilein’s vision we can have a successful team.”

Ok, last question. What do you want to accomplish personally in your four years at Michigan? What do you want to accomplish as a team?

“I just want to do whatever I can to help contribute to the team and win a national championship.”

You have to love the attitude and work ethic that Mark Donnal will bring with him to the program next year. He hasn’t received a ton of attention because of players like Irvin and Walton in this year’s class, but Donnal is going to be a great fit for John Beilein and this program.

You can follow me on Twitter @Anthony_Broome or @BleedBlueBroome for exclusive BBR content. Follow our website @BBlueRecruiting.

Leave a Reply

