Ian Bunting Commitment Reaction

Today a new commitment for the Wolverines came in the form of 6’6 TE Ian Bunting from Hillsdale Central HS in Illinois.  To many, Ian is one of the top Tight Ends in the nation and was recently ranked in the ESPN 150.

At 6’6 Ian is a dynamite player with great traits.  He has an ability to not only go up and get the ball in traffic but also use his speed to shed tackles and get solid YAC.

To many, Bunting was a Notre Dame lean, that is up until his visit to Michigan this past weekend.  He was blown away by his visit and he had a change of heart, deciding that Ann Arbor was the place for him.

Tonight I was able to catch up with Ian and get a few post commitment thoughts and find out what his goals were now that he is a Michigan Wolverine.

-What schools it came down to… “For me it came down to Michigan, ND, Oregon, USC, Northwestern, and Vandy.”

-What it was about Michigan that made them the school for him… “It was a multitude of things for me. The sense of family they have, the personalities of the players and coaches, the excellent academics, the team system along with winning tradition, and also the distance from home being not too far but also not too close, nearly perfect.”

-On whether limited spots played a role, and when he knew he’d be a Wolverine… “That was something I had to think about, but wasn’t the main influence of my decision.  I knew before I left campus on Sunday that I was really close to making my decision.”

-His goals now that he is a Wolverine… “As a player I will work to get bigger, faster, and stronger and hopefully win a State Championship.  I plan on helping recruit for our class and I already am getting to know my future teammates better.”

-On whether he will enroll early… “At this point, probably not.  I want to enjoy my senior year with the kids I have growing up with all my life.”

-One thing he has to say to the Wolverine fans… “Thank you!  I’m so proud and fortunate to join the Wolverine Family and I am thrilled to do what it takes to add to the rich history of Michigan Football and hopefully bring home some hardware while earning an extremely powerful degree at the same time.  Something few schools in the country can promise.  Go Blue!

Bunting has also mentioned he gives a ton of credit to Paul Szcezny and all of the coaches over at Core 6 for his development.  He is a very smart and well spoken kid with all the right motives in mind.

With Bunting in the fold, Michigan should be set at TE for the 2014 class.  Adding Funchess, Butt, and A.J Williams to the TE corps in the last couple years Michigan now has one of the best TE groups in the nation.

It is possible that Ian could redshirt his freshman year, but if he steps on campus and makes some noise he could find himself as the third TE on the depth chart.  He plays like a receiver at times and can play a crucial role, much like that of Funchess this past season.  Michigan has put an emphasis on pass catching TE’s in their offense and Bunting certainly fits that mold.

Bunting in the long term could develop to be an All-B10 player by the end of his senior season and should visit the endzone quite a few times while taking the field for the Michigan Wolverines.

With the commitment of Bunting, the Wolverines now sit at 6 spots filled for the 2014 class.  It is my belief that there is now anywhere from 10-13 spots left and that number could shrink even more after this week with Mattison visiting Kyron Watson Friday, and Moe Ways meeting with the coaches Thursday.

Leave a Reply

