SMSB Interviews: 2015 WR Equanimeous St. Brown

For SMSB, a lot of prospects came from all over the country. You can add 2015 WR, Equinameous St. Brown, to that mix, out of the state of California.

Coming into SMSB, I had never heard of St. Brown.  Though, after watching him perform Day 2, and also speaking with him on Day 3 I immeadiately saw a kid who has the potential to be a 4* prospect at the receiver position for 2015.

At 6’5 and 200lbs, he has the ability to use his height to his full advantage and go up and get the ball at his highest point.  Whether it be a big play downfield, or a quick post route at the 10 yard line, Equinameous can go up and make any catch you ask him to.  He has a great set of hands to go along with his great frame, of which I can still see him adding 20lbs to.  St. Brown, isn’t lightning quick and I notice that at times he struggles with being loose in the hips and making plays after the catch.  He still can score whenever he touches the ball and a lot of the throws his way come into the endzone, while also making the tough catches in the middle of the field to move the chains.  Any time a receiver is that big, you can only dream of the big target any quarterback would love that St. Brown brings to the table.

We were able to catch up with him on Day 3, after noticing the Michigan coaches keeping a close eye on him on Day 2, and here are some of his thoughts..

-On what schools he’s been talking to.. “Well, Illinois just offered me. Ohio State, Michigan, Minnesota, and Iowa are all interested at this point.”

-Likes about Michigan.. “I like that they’re the biggest school in the state and that they are the biggest school and venue in the B10. I also like the great line of quarterbacks they bring in.”

-A visit to Michigan.. “I don’t know, probably. If I do, it will come in the form of a game, hopefully this fall.”

-Strength and Weakness.. “My strength is my size and my speed, it helps me get open really well. My footwork needs to improve, it would make me an even better player.”

-Decision date.. “By the end of my senior year at the latest, even at the beginning would work.”

Equanimeous was a soft spoken man who seems somewhat amazed at the recruiting process, but also a young man who knows what he wants to do in life.

On the field he brings the perfect combination of what you look for in a big play receiver.  His size would give you someone who Michigan hasn’t had since Braylon Edwards.

St. Brown is a guy who should pick up several more offers with a great junior season at Servite (Ca) High and could have the Michigan coaches calling him again early on.  St. Brown seems destined for the B10 and Michigan is the cream of the crop, so we may very well be looking at another member of a WR haul that comes in 2015.  FWIW I see Michigan once again taking 3 WR in 2015.

GO BLUE!

 

One thought on “SMSB Interviews: 2015 WR Equanimeous St. Brown

Leave a Reply

